ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ ගැසට් පතුය අති විශේෂ

The Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka

EXTRAORDINARY

අංක 1998/2 - 2016 දෙසැම්බර් මස 19 වැනි සඳුදා - 2016.12.19 No. 1998/2 - MONDAY, DECEMBER 19,2016

(Published by Authority)

PART I: SECTION (I) — GENERAL

Government Notifications

PRADESHIYA SABHA ACT, No. 15 OF 1987

Order

BY virtue of the powers vested in me, by Paragraph (d) of Section 9A of the Pradeshiya Sabha Act, No. 15 of 1987, I, Faiszer Musthapha, Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Government, do by this Order dissolve Thamankaduwa Preadeshiya Sabha constituted by an order published in the *Extraordinary Gazette* No. 453/24 dated 11th May 1987 with effect from 30th June 2017 for the purpose of constitution of Polonnaruwa Municipal Council and Polonnaruwa Pradeshiya Sabha.

FAISZER MUSTHAPHA,
Minister of Provincial Councils and
Local Government.

Colombo,	
17th December	2016

12- 1311/1

MUNICIPAL COUNCILS ORDINANCE

Order

BY virtue of the powers vested in me, by Sections 2, 3, 5 and 9 of the Municipal Councils Ordinance and subsection (3) of Section 27F of the Local Authorities Elections Ordinance, I, Faiszer Musthapha, Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Government, do by this Order—

(1) declare the area specified in Part -1 of the Schedule hereto, to be a Municipality for the purpose of that Ordinance;

- 2A I කොටස : (I) ඡෙදය ශී ලංකා පුජාතාන්තුික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ අති විශෙෂ ගැසට් පතුය 2016.12.19 Part I : Sec. (I) - GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA - 19.12.2016
 - (2) define the administrative limits of the Municipality area to be the limits set out in Part II of that Schedule;
 - (3) constitute a Municipal Council for the Municipality declared under paragraph (1) of this Order and assign the following name to such Municipal Council;

"Polonnaruwa Municipal Council"

- (4) I, order that Polonnaruwa Municipal Council shall consist of -
 - (i) six (06) members to be appointed under paragraph (a) of subsection (1) of Section 5 of the Municipal Councils Ordinance;
 - (ii) one (01) member to be appointed under paragraph (b) of subsection (1) of Section 5 of the Municipal Councils Ordinance;
 - (iii) two (02) female member to be elected under subsection (3) of Section 27F of the Local Authorities Elections Ordinance.
- (5) I, appoint the 01st day of July 2017 as the date on which the term of office of the Polonnaruwa Municipal Council shall commence.

FAISZER MUSTHAPHA,
Minister of Provincial Councils and
Local Government.

Colombo,

17th December 2016,

Schedule

PART - I

The area of land comprises of the following Grama Niladhari Divisions in Thamankaduwa Divisional Secretariat Division:-

(153) Bediwewa, (155) Athumalpitiya, (155A) Sirisangabo Place, (162) Weera Place, (163) Pulathisi Place (167) Pothgul Place, (168) Udawela, (169) Mahaweli Place, (170) Nisshshankamalla Place, (171) Thopa Wewa, (172) Polonnaruwa Town, (178) Galthabarawa, (179) Kuruppu Junction, (180) Mahasen Place, (183) Kaduruwela West, (184) Kaduruwela South, (185) Perakum Place, (186) Kaduruwela East, (188) Kaduruwela South

PART II

Administrative Limits of Polonnaruwa Municipal Council -

North:

Northern and Eastern boundaries of Athugalpitiya Grama Niladhari Division, Northern boundaries of Bendiwewa, Galthambarawa and Kaduruwela East Grama Niladhari Division and Eastern boundaries of Galthambarawa, Kuruppu Junction and Mahasen Place Grama Niladhari Divisions;

East:

Eastern boundaries of Kadurwela South, Perakum Place and Weera Place Grama Niladhari Divisions:

I කොටස : (I) ඡෙදය - ශීු ලංකා පුජාතාන්තුික සමාජවාදී ජනරජයේ අති විශේෂ ගැසට් පතුය - 2016.12.19 3A Part I : Sec. (I) - GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY OF THE DEMOCRATIC SOCIALIST REPUBLIC OF SRI LANKA - 19.12.2016

South:

Southern boundaries of Weera Place, Nishshankamalla Place, Udawela and Pothgul Place Grama Niladhari Divisions:

West:

Western boundaries of Pothgul Place, Thopa Wewa, Bediwewa, Athumalpitiya and Siri Sangabo Place Grama Niladhari Divisions.

12- 1311/2

PRADESHIYA SABHA ACT, No. 15 OF 1987

Order

BY virtue of the powers vested in me, by Section (1) of Section 2, Section 4 and Section 6 of the Pradeshiya Sabha Act, No. 15 of 1987 and Section 27F of the Local Authorities Elections Ordinance, I, Faiszer Musthapha, Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Government, do by this Order—

- (1) declare the area specified in Part -1 of the Schedule hereto, to be a Pradeshiya Sabha area for the purpose of that Act;
- (2) define the administrative limits of the Pradeshiya Sabha area to be the limits as set out in Part II of that Schedule;
- (3) constitute a Pradeshiya Sabha for the Pradeshiya Sabha area declared under paragraph (1) of this Order and assign the following name to such Sabha;

"Polonnaruwa Pradeshiya Sabha"

- (4) I, order that Polonnaruwa Pradeshiya Sabha shall consist of -
 - (i) ten (10) members to be appointed under Paragraph (a) of the subsection (1) of Section (4) of the Pradeshiya Sabha Act:
 - (ii) three (03) members to be appointed under Paragraph (b) of section (4) of the Pradeshiya Sabha Act;
 - (iii) four (04) female members to be elected under subsection (3) of Section 27F of Local Authorities Elections Ordinance.
- (5) I, appoint 01.07.2017 as the date on which the term of office of the Polonnaruwa Pradeshiya Sabha shall commence.

Faiszer Musthapha, Minister of Provincial Councils and Local Government.

Colombo, 17th December 2016,

Schedule

PART - I

The area of land comprise of the following Grama Niladhari Divisions in Thamankaduwa Divisional Secretariat Division in Polonnaruwa District:-

(154) Samudragama, (156) Nikawewa, (157) Singha Udagama, (158) Kadawala Wewa, (159) Aluthwewa East, (160) Aluthwewa West, (161) Ganangolla, (164) Parakrama Samudraya, (165) Ambangaga, (166) Kalahagala, (173) Palugasdamana 01 Ela, (174) Palugasdamana 02 Ela, (175) Palugasdamana Channel 03, (176) Palugasdamana North (177) Palugasdamana South, (181) Manikkakpattiya, (182) Nelumwila, (187) Gallella, (188) Gallella West, (189) Kotaleeya, (190) Kalinga Ela, (191) Damanagemunupura, (192) Diwlana, (193) Pudur, (194) Sinharajapura, (195) Onegama, (196) Vijayarajapura, (197) Medamaluwa, (198) Laksha Uyana, (199) Nisshanka Mallapura, (200) Sewagama, (201) Wewethenna, (202) Monarathenna (203) Vijayabahupura, (204) Singhapura, (205) Unagala Vehera, (206) Shanthipura

PART II

Administrative Limits of Polonnaruwa Pradeshiya Sabha -

North:

A part of the Eastern boundary of Hingurakgoda Pradeshiya Sabha and Southern boundary of Lankapura Pradeshiya Sabha;

East:

Western boundary of Dimbulagala Pradeshiya Sabha;

South:

Southern boundary and a part of Eastern boundary of Kalahagala Grama Niladhari Division;

West:

Western boundary of Kalahagala Grama Niladhari Division;

The administrative limits of the Polonnaruwa Municipal Council situated within the administrative limits of Polonnaruwa Pradeshiya Sabha.

12- 1311/3