

THE

# CEYLON GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

## EXTRAORDINARY.

# No. 7,846 – SATURDAY, APRIL 18, 1931.

Published by Authority.

# PART I.-GENERAL.

(Separate paging is given to each Part in order that it may be filed separately.)

## PROCLAMATION BY THE GOVERNOR.

IN the Name of His Majesty GEORGE THE FIFTH, by the Grace of GOD of Great Britain, Ireland and the British Dominions beyond the Seas King, Defender of the Faith, Emperor of India.

#### PROCLAMATION.

By His Excellency Sir GRAEME THOMSON, Knight Grand Cross of the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George, Knight Commander of the Most Honourable Order of the Bath, Governor and Commander-in-Chief in and over the Island of Ceylon and its Dependencies.

GRAEME THOMSON.

K NOW Ye that in exercise of the powers vested in the Governor by Article 23 of the Ceylon (State Council Elections) Order in Council, 1931, We, the Governor, do hereby proclaim and order that a General Election shall be held for the purpose of electing members of the State Council and that the nomination of candidates for the Electoral Districts set out in Column I. of the schedule hereto shall take place from 12 noon until 1 P.M. on May 4, 1931, at the respective places specified in Column II.

By His Excellency's command,

B. H. BOURDILLON, Colonial Secretary.

C 38/31

Nuwara Eliya, April 18, 1931.

# GOD SAVE THE KING.

705----J. N. 7353-792 (4/31)

#### PART I. (GENERAL) - CEYLON GOVT. GAZETTE EXTRAORDINARY - April 18, 1931

706

·	SCRI	EDULE.
Column I.	Column II.	Column I. Column II.
Electoral District.	Place of Nomination.	Electoral District. Place of Nomination.
1. Colombo North.	Office of the Registrar-General, Colombo	27. Morawaka The Kachcheri, Matara 28. Matara do.
2. Colombo Central		29. Hambantota The Kachcheri, Hambantota
3. Colombo South.	do.	30. Kayts The Kachcheri, Jaffna
	The Kachcheri, Colombo	31. Kankesanturai do.
5. Negombo	do.	32. Jaffna do.
6. Gampaha	do.	33. Point Pedro do.
7. Kelaniya	do.	34. Mannar Mullait
8. Veyangoda	do.	tivu . Court-house, Vavuniya
9. Avissawella	do.	35. Batticaloa South The Kachcheri, Batticaloa
10. Moratuwa	do.	36. Trincomalee
11. Panadure	The Kachcheri, Kalutara	Batticaloa do.
12. Kalutara		37. Puttalam The Kachcheri, Puttalam
13. Horana	do.	38. Kurunegala The Kachcheri, Kurunegala
14. Matugama	do.	39. Narammala du.
15. Matale	The Kachcheri, Matale	40. Katugampola . do.
16. Galagedara	The Kachcheri, Kandy	41. Chilaw The Kachcheri, Puttalam
17. Kandy	do.	42. Anuradhapura . The Kachcheri, Anuradhapura
18. Dumbara	do.	43. Bandarawela The Kachcheri, Badulla
19. Gampola	do.	44. Badulla do.
20. Hatton	do.	45. Bibile do.
21. Talawakele	The Kachcheri, Nuwara Eliya	46. Kegalla The Kachcheri, Kegalla
22. Nuwara Eliya .	do.	47. Dedigama do,
23. Balapitiya	The Kachcheri, Galle	48. Ruwanwella do.
24. Udugama	do.	49. Ratnapura The Kachcheri, Ratnapura
25. Galle	do.	50. Balangoda do.
26. Weligama	The Kachcheri, Matara	

# GOVERNMENT NOTIFICATION.

# THE CEYLON (STATE COUNCIL ELECTIONS) ORDER IN COUNCIL, 1931.

C 38/31

(Article 24.) Notification.

IN exercise of the powers vested in him by Article 24 of The Ceylon (State Council Elections) Order in Council, 1931, His Excellency the Governor hereby appoints the Officers set out in Column II. of the Schedule hereto to be the Returning Officers for the respective Electoral Districts specified opposite to their names in Column I.

By His Excellency's command, Colonial Secretary's Office, B. H. BOURDILLON, Colombo, April 18, 1931. Colonial Secretary. SCHEDULE. Column I. Column II. Column 1. Column II. Electoral District. Returning Officer. Electoral District. Returning Officer. 1. Colombo North Registrar-General 30. Kayts Government Agent, Northern Pro-2. Colombo Central do.  $\mathbf{v}$ ince Colombo South do. 3. 31. Kankesanturai do. Government Agent, Western Province Minuwangoda 4. 32. Jaffna do. do. 4. sombo 5. Nes ha 6. Gampa 33. Point Pedro do. do. 34. Mannar-Mullaitdo. Kelaniya 7. do. tivu Assistant Government Agent, Mullait-Veyangoda 8. do. tivu 9 Avissawella do. 35. Batticaloa South Government Agent, Eastern Province Moratuwa 10. sistant Government Agent, Kalu-36. Trincomalee-11. Panadure ۰ra Batticaloa do. t≿ do. Assistant Government Agent, Put-37. Puttalam 12. Kalutara do. talam 13. Horana  $\mathbf{do}$ Government Agent, North-Western 38. Kurunegala Matugama 14. nt Government Agent, Matale Assista nent Agent, Central Province Governa io. Province 15. Matale 39. Narammala do. Galagedara 16. ()40. 6/0. d/2. 40. Katugampola do. Kandy 17. Assistant Government Agent, Put-Dumbara 41. Chilaw 18. dà 19. Gampola talam do Government Agent, North-Centra 20. Hatton overnment Agent, Nuwara 42. Anuradhapura Assistant G Talawakele -Province 21.  $\mathbf{E}$ liya Government Agent, Province of Uva 43. Bandarawela do. Nuwara Eliya 22. Agent, Southern 44. Badulla do. Government Balapitiya 23. do. Bibile 45. Province Assistant Government Agent, Kegalla 46. Kegalla do. 24. Udugama do. 47. Dedigama do. Assistant Gove Galle Weligama nment Agent, Matara 25. 48. Ruwanwella do. 26. of Agent. Province 49. Ratnapura Government do. 27. Morawaka Sabaragamuwa do. ment Agent, Ham-Matara 28 do. sistant<sub>o</sub> Gover 50. Balangoda 29. Hambantota bantota TED AT THE CEYLON GOVERNMENT PRIMES, COLOMBO. PRD