

# THE CEYLON GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

## EXTRAORDINARY

No. 9,608 — TUESDAY, OCTOBER 1, 1946.

#### Published by Authority.

# PART I.—GENERAL.

## GOVERNMENT NOTIFICATIONS.

L. D.-O. 14/39.

THE RURAL COURTS ORDINANCE, No. 12 of 1945.

BY virtue of the powers vested in the Governor by subsection (2) of section 3 of the Rural Courts Ordinance, No. 12 of 1945, I, John Curtois Howard, Officer Administering the Government of Ceylon, do by this Order delegate—

 to the Legal Secretary the power of the Governor under sub-section (1) of the aforesaid section in pursuance whereof a person may be appointed to act for any period exceeding seven days as the President or as an Additional President of a Rural Court; and
 to the Judge of each District Court the power of the

(2) to the Judge of each District Court the power of the Governor under sub-section (1) of the aforesaid section in pursuance whereof a person may be appointed to act for any period not exceeding seven days as the President or as an Additional President of any Rural Court over which that Judge has appellate jurisdiction under the provisions of the said Ordinance.

J. C. HOWARD,

Officer Administering the Government. Nuwara Eliya, 1st October, 1946.

L. D.—O. 14/39.

THE RURAL COURTS ORDINANCE, No. 12 of 1945.

Order.

WHEREAS the areas specified in column I of the Schedule hereto, being areas for which Rural Courts are deemed to be established under the Rural Courts Ordinance, No. 12 of 1945, fall within the local jurisdiction of two or more District Courts:

Now, therefore, I, John Curtois Howard, Officer Administering the Government of Ceylon, do, in the exercise of the

powers conferred on the Governor by the proviso to section 42 of that Ordinance, nominate, in respect of each of the aforesaid areas, the District Court specified in the corresponding entry in column II of the Schedule, as the District Court whereof the Judge or the Judge and each Additional Judge shall have and exercise appellate jurisdiction over the Rural Court of that area.

J. C. Howard, Officer Administering the Government.

Nuwara Eliya, 1st October, 1946.

. Schedule.		
	I	II
Area comprising— Di		District Court.
1.	Dehigampal Korale and Lower Bulath- gama and Atulugam and Panawal	
2.	Korales	Avissawella
	Udukinda and Buttala Wellawaya Divisions	Badulla
3.	Yatikinda and Wiyaluwa Divisions	$\mathbf{Badulla}$
	Wellaboda Pattu	Balapıtiya
5.	Hewagam Korale and Colombo Muda-	
	liyar's Division	Colombo
6.	Sıyane Korale East and Hapıtigam Korale	Colombo
7.	Sıyane Korale West (Adikari Pattu), Sıyane Korale West (Meda Pattu) and Salpiti Korale	Colombo
8.	Alutkuru Korale North "A", Alutkuru Korale North "B", and Alutkuru	
	Korale South	${f Negombo}$
9.	Kotmale and Nuwara Eliya Gravets	Nuwara Eliya
	Uda Hewaheta and Walapane Divisions	Nuwara Eliya
11.	Panadura Totamune and Kalutara Totamune	Panadura
12.	Kuruwiti Korale	
	izatawiot ixotato	Ratnapura

PRINTED AT THE CEYLON GOVERNMENT PRESS, COLOMBO.

1741---J N A 64826-2,310(10/46)