

## THE CEYLON GOVERNMENT GAZETTE

EXTRAORDINARY

No. 10,484 — THURSDAY, JANUARY 1, 1953

Published by Authority,

## PART I: SECTION (I) – GENERAL

Government Notifications

## HONOURS

G.G.O. No. R. 171/52

THE following announcements are published for general information.

By His Excellency's command,

A. C. M. HINGLEY, Secretary to the Governor-General

Governor-General's Office, Colombo, 1st January, 1953.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased to declare that the undermentioned shall be sworn of Her Majesty's M Honourable Privy Council :

The Honourable Mr. Lucian Macull Dominic de Silva, Q.C., Puisne Justice.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased to signify Her Majesty's intention of conferring the Honour of Knighthe upon :

Herbert Eric Jansz, Esquire, C.M.G., Chairman, Public Service Commission.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased to give directions for the following appointment to the Most Distinguis Order of Saint Michael and Saint George :

To be a Member of the Third Class, or Companion, of the said Most Distinguished Order :

Ralph Norman Bond, Esquire, O.B.E., Permanent Secretary to the Ministry of Posts and Information.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, Most Excellent Order of the British Empire :

To be an Ordinary Knight Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

Edwin Aloysius Perera Wijeyeratne, Esquire, High Commissioner for Ceylon in the United Kingdom.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

Warusahennedige Leo Fernando, Esquire, O.B.E., Member of Parliament for Buttala.

Warusahennedige Abraham Bastian Soysa, Esquire, M.B.E., Senator.

## To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

Simon Reginald Gunewardene, Esquire, L.M.S. (Ceylon); M.B., B.S. (Lond.), M.R.C.S. (Eng.). L.R.C.P. (Lond.), Medical Superintendent, State Home for the Aged, Koggala.

Markandu Kanagasabay, Esquire, M. INST. T., General Manager, Ceylon Govern ment Railway.

Edwin Mendis Karunaratne, Esquire, Proctor, S.C.

Sangarapully Sellamuttu, Esquire, Member of the Colombo Municipal Council.

Sabapathipillai Albert Selvanayagam, Esquire, M.B.E., Member of the Urban Council, Batticaloa.

Charles Francis Whitaker, Esquire, Retired Secretary of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce.

Chandradasa Wijesinghe, Esquire.

Basil Henry William, Esquire, Managing Director of the High Level Road Bus Co., Ltd.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

Major Roy Douglas Jayetileke, Officer Commanding, Army Recruit Training Depot. Lieutenant Commander (S) Kenneth Maitland Martinus, R. CY. N., Senior Supply Officer, Royal Ceylon Navy.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

Mrs. Ella Marjorie Atkinson.

Arumugam Arulpiragasam, Esquire, c.c.s., Registrar-General.

Lucien Noel Bartholomeusz, Esquire, L.M.S. (Ceylon), F.R.C.S. (Eng.), Visiting Surgeon, General Hospital Colombo.

Al-Haj Mohamed Purvis Drahaman, Esquire, L.M.S. (Ceylon), Private Medical Practitioner.

Peter Frederick Alwis Goonetileka, Esquire, Proctor and Notary Public.

Sago Sudhira Jayawickrama, Esquire.

Don Wilfred Richard Kahawita, Esquire, MECH. SC. TRIPOS, Cantab, Designs Engineer, Irrigation Department.

Mrs. Wimala Irene Kannangara.

Vitarana Simon Nanayakkara, Esquire, Assistant Municipal Treasurer, Colombo Municipal Council.

Edward Ashley Peries, Esquire, Crown Proctor, Kegalla.

Wasala Bandaranayake Herat Mudiyanse Ralahamillage Tikiri Banda Poholiyadde Disava, Member of Parliament for Horowupotana.

Mudaliyar Arulappu Bastiampillay Rajendra, Senator.

Mayilvakanam Srikhanta, Esquire, c.c.s., Director, Land Development Department.